Of misty mornings and a better life…

1

 

Someone once told me to try and build a life I don’t need a vacation from. Slowly, I am getting there, I’d like to think. Waking up in the morning at six, to this view. To a sleep-addled daughter that wants to only curl up for five more minutes. The peace that reigns for five minutes before the school run begins. I breathe in her strawberry sweet hair, and while I run my fingers I realize there is sand that she somehow manages to get into her hair. I cringe inwardly for a moment, but then I think of the freedom she has now, to play in the sand, in the dirt, her knees scraped, yet again,  and I am thankful for the dirty clothes she comes back in. I’d much rather have this life, than a spick and span one, any day.

Leave a Reply

