Fiction 96

“Do that again?” he says, inching closer to her. “The hair thing.”

“Ah, this?” she asks, tucking the stray strand of hair behind her ear. She laughs.

“Yes, that. Exactly, that. You know how much I’ve missed this?” he sighs. “How did you lose so much weight? Where is the rest of you?”

“Perseverance. And you. You know you caused this. You know it.”

“Like I’ve said a thousand times before, I was just a catalyst. The rest is all on you. Accept it, for once.

“Fine. How much did you miss me?”

“Loads. Tons. Millions.”

“Don’t patronize me. Tell me, for real.”

“I’ve not really missed you. You were in my head anyway, turning up the crazy a notch.”

“And then you say you’re not romantic. You’re so cute!”

“Cute! Sheesh, woman, learn how to give a man a compliment.”

“If you say that without your dimpled chin, I actually might take you seriously.” she laughs kissing his chin.

“I have no words.” he laughs as he pulls her closer.

Leave a Reply

