Fiction 93

“You can’t hide from me, you know.” he says, brushing a strand of hair away from her face.

“When have I tried to hide from you? I’ve been here, all day, sitting right by you.”

“Well, you might have been here. But your mind was not.” he whispers, kissing her neck slowly.

“You know me far too well. I’ll have to kill you now.” she giggles.

“You’ve done that and more, you just don’t know it yet. ”

“I never used to understand things before. Now, it’s all sinking in.”

“Time is the best teacher, ma.”

“True, but time alone isn’t.”  she smiles, kissing his cheek.

“I was just a catalyst. After that, you did everything on your own.”

“Oh God, how you underestimate yourself! You should love yourself more, ma. Believe in yourself.” she mock  lectures him.

“Look who’s talking. Remember that guy who was hitting on you in the pub? I wanted to break his nose. The only reason I pretended to not know what’s happening was to see how you’d put him in his place. Not because I didn’t care.”

“Aww. That is by far the sweetest thing anyone has ever said to me.”

“Sigh. And you tell me I’m complicated!” he laughs.

Leave a Reply

