Fiction 88

“I am sorry…” she whispers into his chest. “I really, truly am.”

“I know. It’s okay. Go to sleep, child.” he says, making sure to cushion her head from his elbow. “Were you always this tiny?” 

“From what angle am I tiny?” she giggles. “I didn’t mean to scare you.” she tries again.

“I never get scared.”

“You know what I meant. My phone died on me and then I got lost with other things. Completely forgot that I sent you those messages.”

“I left without my wallet and my watch! Have you ever seen me like this? I wore Hawaii chappals!”

“I know. I keep doing nonsense and you still put up with it. You’re a blessing.” 

“Now don’t push me. I still am angry. I don’t want to hurt you.”

“You can’t, ma. Some day, you will understand…”

“Now who’s being vague? he laughs. 

“I mean a lot to you, don’t I?” 

“That is a question I refuse to answer.”

“Now who’s being dark and mysterious and has the whole angry young man vibe going?”

“It’s all in the mind. And am not young. Or cute. No matter what you say.”

“But you are! The cutest and sweetest guy ever!”

“You’re the first person who’s called me that!”

“And you’re the first who’s called me tiny. So let’s call it quits and go back to bed?”

“I never thought I’d see the day when you would say that to me! Thank you kindly. I have something to ask you. Now that you’ve taken off my shirt…”

“Yes?” she flutters her eyelashes.

“Would you do me the favour of giving me the sheets instead of hogging them all yourself!!?” he laughs, pulling the sheets and the person entangled in them, towards him. 

Leave a Reply

