Fiction 79

“You’re so adorable.” she giggles into the phone.

“Argh. No. Am not adorable.”

“Yes you are. Like I want to kiss you right now. That adorable.”

“Why would you want to kiss me right now?”

“Ermm. Do you know what you do to me? Those lips, those hands…” she sighs.

“Okay.” 

“Stop blushing. You should learn how to take a compliment.”

“How do you know am blushing, ma? Do you have a video camera set up in my room?”

“Yes, how did you know? I thought I’d hidden it well. Such fun it is to watch you!”

Right. It’s not like I have a six-pack or anything.”

“It’s what is between your ears that matters. Not other things.”

“Now you’re insulting my other things.”

“God! What I meant is, I love you for your brain, and lust after your body. Happy?”

“Yes. Very. You know, I’ve never let anyone trouble me, but you…” 

“Finish the sentence.” she smiles.

“The sentence is finished.” he laughs. “Now go sleep.” 

“Okay.” she reluctantly agrees.

“Wow, you’re actually listening to me?” 

“Well, I know that you are going to hang up, irrespective of whether I want you to or not, so I might as well agree with you, no?”

“You’re learning.” he says. “Good night. I’ll see you soon.”

“I thought you were coming only next week.”

“In my dreams, ma. In my dreams, I meant.”

“See? You are adorable!” she laughs.

Leave a Reply

