You

You fill up my senses. Just like the song. A wisp of unruly hair – that you tuck behind my ears for me, longs for your touch.

My hands, cold and lonely, crave for yours. Those big, warm hands that engulf mine. The fingers that run through my hair, slowly, just so, to ease the pain, to put me to sleep. The hands that slowly rub the small of my back, because only they know where the knots are that need unraveling.

Your kisses on my forehead, that somehow calmed me down. Always. My ear on your chest, listening to your heartbeat. Always questioning why it was so fast. You’d say it was me who’d cause your heart to flutter.

Your laughter, as clear as a temple bell. Your annoyance at being called cute. Your mild irritation at my random questions.

Your anger at my inability to lie still. “You’re so fidgety. This is the tenth time you’ve woken me up.”  Your stubble, grazing my cheek as you pulled me closer and held me until I slept.

Your gentleness, as you removed your arm slowly from under my head, and pushed a pillow in its place.

You, watching me sleep, sighing to yourself.

You, kissing my eyes when you thought I was asleep.

You. Just you. You are me. You are my strength and my weakness. My Achilles heel, my knight in shining armour, my love, my life.

Love that breaks you, but keeps you together. Love that is unconditional. That transcends distance and time. Love that will remain constant. Forever. Always.

Leave a Reply

