Letters to a daughter – 1

So today, dear child, we celebrated a big milestone. Your first ever performance, on stage. And it couldn’t have been a better place. This was at Ravindra Bharathi. A place where my mother gave many a kacheri. The very same stage where I apparently stood, some 25 years ago, in the wings, waiting for your grandmother to finish singing so I could go and hug her. Where your father and your aunt performed for the first time ever.

I had goosebumps as I saw you wait patiently in the wings, for your turn to come. You were so amazing on stage, I cried tears of joy. I had goosebumps all through the performance. I couldn’t take my eyes off you. Neither could your father.

The thing that struck me the most, and the thing that I was proud of you the most was the way you treated your peers. I saw you help a younger child, I saw you put another child’s  needs before yours. And I saw you dance your heart out. Your energy was so electric, I forgot how tired I was. I forgot that I’d had only a couple of hours of sleep, and that I needed to go back to work again. I forgot how much my foot was aching because it was so cramped.      I forgot that I had to rush back to work in the maddening heat. I forgot that I had been waiting for more than three hours for your name to be called out. And the best part is, I’d do it all again in a heartbeat. You make me so proud of you, every single day. Never lose your joie de vivre, baby. Never ever. 

 

Love,

Amma

 

 

2 thoughts on “Letters to a daughter – 1

Leave a Reply

