The grass is always greener on the other side…

or is it? When you’ve had trouble, it is so easy to fall into the trap of “Why me?” or “Oh God – How come they’re having such a good life?”. You have to admit it, everyone goes through that phase. It could be something as inane as a Facebook status that drives us over the edge. You sit back and think of the zillion possibilities that could have happened in your life, instead of what you are going through currently. You look at a picture of someone living it up on a Friday night, and think of your life and curse your nonexistent social life. Does anyone really think of what could be happening behind the picture? For all you know, that person could be going through a really tough time at work and could be spending a couple of hours out before he or she gets home, while you on the other hand, are having a super time at work.

This reminds me of the story I heard from my mother, of Buddha, and of how a woman, who’d just lost her child, went wailing, wanting  her child be brought to life again, and of how he had asked her to bring him a mustard seed from  a house where no one had lost a child, a  parent, a husband or a friend. And much to her dismay, she couldn’t even find one house which had not encountered death in one way or the other. This just puts things into perspective, doesn’t it?

Like right now, am stuck at home, with a dislocated knee, the whole leg in a cast, hobbling around. I did think – why did this happen now, just before the husband was travelling, that too, for more than ten days? I cried like a baby, when the doctor told me about being in a cast. He asked if I was in pain, and I told him it was the fact that I’d be alone, without a support system that was hurting me more than the knee. He asked me one question, which made me feel better instantly. He asked me what I would have done if I had dislocated my knee after my husband had left for the US. What would I have done then? He also asked what I’d have done if it was something major and life changing that had happened. Would I have not wished for something simpler? And I laughed and wiped my tears away and nodded. He was true. And today, I am thankful for the friends who randomly visited and spent time with, people who brought me food, the husband who worked from home for a week and watched over me like a baby, friends who surprised me on my birthday by just being there. And I knew I had more love surrounding me than I could ever dream of.

It is very easy to judge or jump to conclusions about other people’s lives, especially when you’re upset about your own, but once you actually start realizing that this life that we have, is heaven or hell, depending upon what you’re making of it, everything starts making sense. And the day you’re able to look at it without other things clouding your judgement, is when you’ve conquered it. Truly and completely.

PS. Wondering what brought this on? A conversation with a friend. And I had to let it out. And what better way than to blog about it, like he says 🙂

Leave a Reply

