Fiction 54

“Go to sleep, little one.” he softly murmurs, running his hand through her hair.

“Am not sleepy.”

“Well, I am.”

“So sleep! Who’s stopping you?”

“Sigh. You. With your fidgeting and all that. Can’t you be still?” he asks, holding her a little closer, a little tighter.

“I can’t. And am not fidgety.”

“Right.”

“Am not! I’ll ask you something?”

“Since when does my answer to that question started to matter? You and I both know you will say whatever is on your mind, regardless.”

“You really like me, don’t you?”

“I like what you’ve done with your life, yes.”

“It’s all because of you, you know. I would have never aspired to be more if not for your constant goading, your love and your idiotic belief in me.”

“No, it’s all because of you. And the day you realize that, will be the day I truly like you.” he says, wrapping the blanket around her a little more. “Now shut the f**k up and let me sleep!’

Leave a Reply

