Fiction 46

“I missed you!” she  giggles, running  up to him and enveloping him in a big hug.

“I know.”

Ten minutes later, all settled in and comfortable next to him, she says “So, you know what happened when you were gone? My article got published!”

“I know.”

“I know you know, I still like to say things out loud. So – you’re proud of me?”

“Always.” he smiles.

“Anyway, what are you doing on the comp? You’re  busy?”

“Nope. Listening to music.”

“Play a song for me, no?

“Nah. Now am watching standup comedy.”

“Russell Peters!” she giggles, peeking  into his screen.

“Yes, Einstein.” he laughs.

“I want you to play me music. It’s been so long since you’ve played me a song…’

“Okay, close your eyes then.”

A minute later, an all too familiar tune fills the room. And there is nothing else. Except music. The song plays on, and she cuddles up to him. And closes her eyes.

“Oh my God! I managed to make you shut the eff up!” he laughs.

“Congrats.”

“Sigh.” “That was a joke…”

“I know.” she smiles. Wiping the stray tear off her cheek and blowing her nose.

“Why the water from the eyes and nose then?” he nudges.

“Not about the joke. It’s about the song. Very overwhelming.”

“It’s just a song, you know.”

“To me, its not. It’s so much more. You won’t understand. My brain works on a different level than yours. Anyway, when you were gone I watched The Dark Knight again. There was a line that reminded me of you.”

“Which one?”

“Because he’s the hero Gotham deserves, but not the one it needs right now. So we’ll hunt him. Because he can take it. Because he’s not our hero. He’s a silent guardian, a watchful protector. A dark knight. ”

“You’re mental. I know am good. But not that good.”

“You are.” she smiles. “You just don’t know it yet.”

“Touche, my dear. Touche.” he replies, kissing her forehead.

2 thoughts on “Fiction 46

Leave a Reply

