Fiction 35

“Where’s my hug?” he asks, as she curls up in the chair with a book.

“Aww, here you go!” she says, enveloping him in a hug.

“Oh, so I should ask every time?” 

“Not ask ask, at least mention it so it doesn’t feel like am forcing myself on you.”

“Don’t worry, when you do something I don’t like, I’ll mention it – like I did in the evening.”

“The only reason I keep texting you when you’re at work is because sometimes, I need to feel your presence. Like someone in the dark, stretching their hand out to feel something.”

“I hate it because it undermines me… I have told you a million times that I will always be there… If you go on wanting reassurances then that’s your problem.”

“I don’t know what to say, now….” she smiles.

“Don’t say anything, for a change.”

“Okie.”

Five minutes pass, and then ten.

“Fine fine, say something. I know you can’t keep your trap shut.” he laughs.

“Nothing, for once am actually dumbstruck, so I’ll just hug you?”

Sigh. There she goes.”

 

Leave a Reply

