Fiction XXIX

“Go to sleep…” he says. “It is three in the morning.”

“I can’t. You know I can’t when am alone. You take a flight and come here and put me to sleep.” she replies, half-joking, half-hoping.

“Right.”

“Don’t go sarcy on me.”

“I always prioritaze things.”

“It’s prioritize. And prioritize what things?”

“Nothing. Never mind.”

“Please speak in English?”

“What?”  he asks, mildly angry. She knows that tone.

“I mean don’t speak in riddles. Am too dumb for all that.”

“I’ll do better. I won’t speak at all.”

“Don’t do that!”

“Go get some sleep. You need sleep.”

“You’ll be around?”

“You know I will.”

“Hmm.. Okie. Good night, then?”

“Close ’em eyes and go to sleep. I’ll see you soon, when I sleep.” he whispers.

“Sigh. How do you say exactly what I need to hear?” she says, as she drifts off to sleep. Content. Peaceful.

Leave a Reply

