What I learnt in the last decade :

One of my most favorite bloggers, The Mad Momma, wrote about things she learnt in the last decade, and asked what it has taught me/us.

This is going to be a long list because the last decade has been life – changing, literally.

The last decade has seen me change from a short-haired jeans clad girl into a woman, into someone who actually likes dressing up and wearing girly dresses. It has seen me evolve into someone with a better dressing sense. Someone who knows wearing jeans to a family wedding is not done. In my defense, I wore a really nice kurti with it, but still 🙂 Jayaakka, if you are reading this, it was your wedding :).

The last decade had me shift from the place I grew up in to a relatively bigger city. And then to another in an alien state. From Vizag to Hyderabad, and then back to Vizag. From Vizag to Hyderabad again, and now to Chennai. Although I miss Vizag immensely, I learnt that am more open to change now.  And am willing to pack my bags and move to Timbuctoo if P wants to.

The last decade has seen me  go through terrible losses, two of them which I’ll never be able to forget. But I have learnt to look back and not cry. I have learnt to relive memories and smile. And thank God for allowing me to be a part of their respective lives, even if it was for a short while.

I have learnt that I wasn’t as career-minded as I thought I would be. I have left jobs that I loved, twice and have moved to where P was, because long distance relationships are not my cup of tea. I have absolutely no regrets and neither do I blame P. In fact, I have had the opportunity to live in such different places and learn to adjust, because of him. That said, I know I cribbed about the weather and other stuff, but at the end of the day, looking back, I know there is nothing I would change about the decisions I have made.

I have learnt that I can actually cook, and have learnt to love cooking and baking. It is therapeutic for me now. When am down or have an attack of the blues, all I need to do is pick up groceries and go home and experiment to cook something new for the two people I love the most and I’ll feel better.

I have learnt that I cannot be without books. Even though I hardly have time for myself, reading is something that I have to absolutely do at least for half an hour each day. I still sometimes read myself to sleep with my glasses on. The only difference is, P takes the glasses of instead of my Dad.

I have learnt that one can fall in love, over and over again, with the same person.

And the most important of all- I’ve learnt how much it takes to be a mother.  Not that I’ve been one for long. Just under three years, but still, each day I learn something new. I’ve learnt what Elisabeth Stone meant when she said ““Making the decision to have a child – It’s momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.”

I have learnt that I actually love writing.  And that I love articulating what I feel, in words.

I have learnt that distance doesn’t really matter when it comes to friendships. I have had the opportunity to make lifelong friends, and the internet and the phone have helped me maintain them. I know that the handful of them I have on speed dial , will be there for me. Period. No questions asked. And that means the world to me.

And last but not the least important, I’ve learnt to love myself. 🙂

So , let me ask you , my dear readers, what have you learnt?

6 thoughts on “What I learnt in the last decade :

  1. loving, accepting yrself is the process which is life long and u make me proud of yr metamorphosis from the caterpillar to pupa to this myriad explosions of colors…u go lil one, am yr cheerleader for life…luv n hugs baby
    rr

  2. First of all, Bravo! Well written and an interesting topic (I’m gonna steal your idea this as always, and I’m not sorry for it :P)

    The biggest change I saw in you was after you lost your mom and although I’ve not been able to help you through the saddest period of your life, I can only offer some words of comfort:

    “What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others.” – Pericles

    And I see what she left behind in you, and it’s all good.

    Lucid

    1. Thank you. With all my heart. And you are wrong. You have helped in ways unimaginable.. And I know you will always be there, otherwise too. :p ..like for couriering iphones 😀

  3. Agree on all of them, but cudn;’t agree more that distance doesn’t matter to the ‘real’ friendships. It’s always there! This is a nice positive note on which to begin the year.

Leave a Reply

